10 replies to this topic

#1 userdk

userdk

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts

Posted 27 February 2013 - 05:29 PM

Hi,

Sorry for all of the comments/questions about Events, but I'm still learning how this works on Benchmark (and liking it so far).

Yesterday, I created an event that will recur once. When I set the limit on the number of tickets, it is not clear if the coding is designed to limit the number of tickets in total, or if the limit that I established is applied to each recurrance. For example, if I want to allow 25 free tickets for each time we have the meeting, will that be how the coding works when I enter the number 25 in the set-up of the event for that type of ticket. Or, will it limit it to a total of 25 free tickets across both sessions?

Many thanks,

David

#2 userdk

userdk

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts

Posted 27 February 2013 - 05:40 PM

Hi, I may have answered this for myself by registering for both occurences of this event.

I don't know if this is how you intended the system to work, but the total number of tickets is applied across all recurrences. For my needs, that creates a problem. For example, we are organizing a conference call, which will be repeated at a later time on the same day so that people in different time zones around the world can have a convenient time to participate. However, I can only have 25 people participate in any one call. So, I would like to set a limit of 25 tickets for the first call and 25 tickets for the second call.

As the system presently works, I would need to allow 50 tickets to be purchased. But, in theory, all 50 of those people could get tickets for the first call and 25 of them would be very disappointed because they could not get into the call.

A better way for the system to work, at least for my needs, would be to apply the ticket limits to each session independently. Or, to allow the establishment of unique ticket limits for each recurrance.